Ghost Station (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Ghost Station By S.A. Barnes Cover Image

Ghost Station (Hardcover)

List Price: $27.99
Our Price: $25.19
(Save: $2.80 10%)
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

A crew must try to survive on an ancient, abandoned planet in the latest space horror novel from S.A. Barnes, acclaimed author of Dead Silence.

An abandoned plant. A hidden past. A deadly danger.

Psychologist Dr. Ophelia Bray has dedicated her life to the study and prevention of ERS—the most famous case of which resulted in the brutal murders of twenty-nine people. It's personal to her, and when she's assigned to a small exploration crew who recently suffered the tragic death of a colleague, she wants to help. But as they begin to establish residency on an abandoned planet, it becomes clear that crew is hiding something.

And Ophelia's crewmates are far more interested in investigating the eerie, ancient planet and unraveling the mystery behind the previous colonizers' hasty departure than opening up to her.

That is, until their pilot is discovered gruesomely murdered. Is this Ophelia’s worst nightmare starting—a wave of violence and mental deterioration from ERS? Or is it something even more sinister?

Terrified that history will repeat itself, Ophelia and the crew must work together to figure out what’s happening. But trust is hard to come by…and the crew isn’t the only one keeping secrets.

Also by S.A. Barnes:
Dead Silence

S.A. BARNES works in a high school library by day, recommending reads, talking with students, and removing the occasional forgotten cheese-stick-as-bookmark. The author has published numerous novels across different genres, but Dead Silence is the first published as S. A. Barnes. Barnes lives in Illinois with more dogs and books than is advisable and a very patient spouse.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250884923
ISBN-10: 1250884926
Publisher: Tor Nightfire
Publication Date: April 9th, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English

“Perfectly unsettling. Ghost Station scratches the itch for space horror just right—and doesn’t shrink from the grisly consequences of exploring the unknown.” —Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

Ghost Station is everything I could want in a horror story and more. Barnes became one of my favorite authors with Dead Silence and this is a stunning follow-up. Highly recommended.” –Darcy Coates, USA Today bestselling author of Dead of Winter

“Barnes simultaneously slips in small doses of terror that get and stay under readers’ skin, until the entire narrative explodes and holds them entranced for its final act. Barnes (Dead Silence) is quickly cementing herself as the go-to author in space horror.” —Library Journal

“A skin-crawling, delicious tale of exploration, exploitation, and electrifying horror. I loved (and screeched through) every moment of it.” —Yume Kitasei, author of The Deep Sky

“Fans of the original Alien film will enjoy this tense psychological-horror story set in a far-flung future as the crew tries to solve the mystery of this abandoned mission while navigating the atrocities of their corporate employer, which they know all too well.” —Booklist

“A taut, twisting thriller that subverts every trope and expectation in all the best—and most terrifying—ways imaginable.” —Philip Fracassi, author of Boys in the Valley

“A hostile planet, mysterious alien ruins, and a distrustful crew of traumatized people—it’s a potent combination that makes for a tense, gripping, and delightfully creepy thriller.” —Kali Wallace, author of Dead Space

“Barnes leads us step by step up a mounting staircase of dread, through horrors both real and suggestive.” —David Wellington, author of Paradise-1

“Fans of exploration horror will go wild for this creepy, pacey, and captivating novel…. Ghost Station will infect you.” —Ally Wilkes, author of All the White Spaces

"The best space horror since Alien.” —Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten and #murdertrending

Praise for Dead Silence


A Best Book of 2022 by the New York Public Library • One of the Best SFF Books of 2022 (Gizmodo) • One of the Best SF Mysteries of 2022 (CrimeReads) • A GoodReads Choice Award finalist for Best Science Fiction!

“I ate this book in one sitting because I was in the mood to be freaked out and it delivered tremendously. Truly un-put-downable in its purest sense.” —Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

"Stomach-turning, sinister space horror perfect for fans of Alien and Event Horizon." —Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"At the intersection of science fiction and horror, Dead Silence is the ultimate haunted house story, in space." —Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger

“This is great, immersive, atmospheric space horror that shows Barnes is a talented storyteller and proves that, despite rumors to the contrary, horror belongs in space.” —Locus

“Dead Silence mixes horror, mystery and sci-fi into a thrill ride sure to shock you out of your reading rut. This is one of those time-warp books—the ones where you look away from the clock, then look back and it’s suddenly way past your bedtime.” —BookPage, Starred Review

“With a compelling haunted-house-in-space frame, excellent worldbuilding, vivid imagery, biting social commentary, sustained tension, and a storytelling style that seamlessly moves between the mortal danger of the present and Kovalik's unsettling past, this sf-horror blend will resonate loudly with readers.” —Library Journal

“Barnes is giving you Titanic but make it scary, she’s giving you Event Horizon, she’s giving you Ghost Ship; for real, this book will make your skin crawl.” —BookRiot

"This story slides and slithers from creepy and atmospheric to skin-crawling, edge-of-your-seat terror." —T. Kingfisher, author of What Moves the Dead

“Dead Silence gives you the suffocating claustrophobia of 2001: A Space Odyssey mixed with the horrors of Alien. I couldn't stop reading.” —Mur Lafferty, Hugo Award-Winning author of Six Wakes

"Barnes ably conjures the kind of haunting setting and atmosphere required for this Event Horizon-esque novel... Recommended for fans of claustrophobic space horror." —Booklist

“Barnes plays nicely on human fears of both madness and of ghosts, carefully blurring the line between science fiction and horror... Those with a taste for blending genres will enjoy this combo.” —Publishers Weekly

"Creepy and satisfying; I'll be checking under my bed tonight." —Sarah Pinsker, author of the Nebula Award winning A Song For A New Day